WordyGirl’s Movie/TV reviews











{February 20, 2009}   Bones has gone downhill… *

Okay, I admit I was going to make my first post about the up coming Oscars, but come on…won’t every movie reviewer be focusing on that? Well, I just finished watching the newest Episode of Bones.( http://www.fox.com/bones/ ) And I have to say, it was disappointing.  For something that used to be my favorite show, it has become a boring, predictable waste of time. When I bought the first season on DVD last year, to watch my favorite episodes again, the back of the box described Bones as “a sexed-up CSI.” It’s now just that–minus the CSI.

Temperance Brennan, who used to be an admirable, intense, strong female character has now become a caricature of a scientist and the frequent comparisons between Brennan and figures like Wonder Woman and Zena are just corny and unoriginal. Did the show get new writers? Or did the old writers just get tired of writing? Something changed. It could simply be that they are running out of ideas. And if that’s the case, I’m sorry but I cannot imagine this show lasting another season.

Every episode basically has the same exact story line. They find a body in some bizarre situation, Brennan and Booth ‘accidentally’ spout out sexual innuendo, there are awkward moments of sexual tension between Angela and Hodgins, and Cam gets annoyed with somebody. The lameness of every episode having a different Zach replacement is ruining the show. It’s getting old and I really doubt anybody is watching so that they can find out whose going to fill Zach’s empty void this week.

Which brings me to my next topic: The inconsistencies. did Angela or did she not fall for a woman?? What happened with that? I am by no means insinuating that she should have to stick to one sexual orientation if she doesn’t want to, but since she is a fictitious character, some consistency is necessary. She was flirting with Hodgins again, and for many episodes nobody’s even mentioned her sudden attraction to women. Remember Buffy the Vampire Slayer? (Lame example, I know. just humor me, i have a point.) when Willow became a lesbian, they didn’t just forget it in the next episode. And I know this is a crime drama, not a soap opera, but its missing the crime aspect too. there is very little mystery solving or investigation. its all Booth and Bones with their corny chemistry that used to be appealing.

Don’t you remember wishing at the end of every episode that they would FINALLY hook up? Well, I don’t really care anymore. if they were going to, wouldn’t they have already? There is no sweet, loving chemistry between them anymore. now all they do is act awkward. Brennan will say something unintentionally suggestive, Booth will laugh and Brennan won’t even understand what she said. it gets to the point where you have to say: does this woman SERIOUSLY have a genius IQ? They’ve taken her from being hard headed and book smart to completely naive, and clueless. It doesn’t make her a strong character. they’ve completely forgotten about character building and made Booth into some goofy, clown-like oaf and Brennan into this overly stereotypical scientist to the point where she isn’t even smart anymore.



Leave a comment

et cetera